The Regions and Provinces of Spain
Spanish-Web Logo

Spain Info and Properties

☰ Show Main Menu ☰
˟ Hide Main Menu ˟
Map of Spain showing the regions

The Regions of Spain

Spain is divided into autonomous regions, each with there own government and often with an entirely different character, sometimes also different languages.
There are 15 regions on the Spanish mainland with the Balearic Islands and Canary islands bringing the total to 17.

For further information on individual Regions, click on the appropriate area of the map or choose from the list below:

Andalucia (with provinces: Almeria, Cadiz, Cordoba, Granada, Heulva, Jaen, Malaga, and Sevilla) Covering most of the south of the country and with historical influence from the moors.

Aragon (with provinces: Huesca, Teruel, Zaragoza)A land locked Region running from the centre/east of the country to the Pyrenees, with some stunning surprises.

Asturias A green, and in some parts spectacularly beautiful region in the north of Spain.

Balearic Islands (with islands: Formentera, Ibiza, Mallorca, Menorca) A group of 4 inhabited islands in the Mediterranean with quite diverse attractions for the tourist.

Basque Country (with provinces: Alava, Biscay, Gipuzkoa)On the western end of the Pyrenees, bordering France, and famous for it's cuisine.

Canary Islands (with islands: El Hierro, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, La Gomera, La Palma, Lanzarote, Tenerife) A group of islands approximately 1200km south west of Spain with one of the best year round climates to be found anywhere.

Cantabria A green and attractive region in northern Spain

Castilla La Mancha (with provinces: Albacete, Ciudad Real, Cuenca, Guadalajara, Toledo) A large central region south of Madrid, well known for it's saffron production.

Castilla y Leon (with provinces: Avila, Burgos, Leon, Palencia, Salamanca, Segovia, Soria, Valladolid, Zamora) A large central region north of Madrid

Catalunya (with provinces: Barcelona, Gerona, Lerida, Tarragona) The north east corner of Spain, bordering France and the Pyrenees, including the facinating city of Barcelona, the stunning scenery of the Pyrenees and Pre-Pyrenees, plus the river Ebro and it's delta.

Extremadura (with provinces: Caceres, Badajoz) A land locked region bordering southern Portugal.

Galicia (with provinces: La Coruna, Pontevedra, Orense, Lugo) The wild and rugged north west corner of Spain with its almost fjord like, deep sea inlets, known a rias.

La Rioja The well known wine producing region (but not the only wine producer)

Madrid The exact centre of the country and home to the capital city.

Murcia A small region on the south east coast including the inland sea known as the Mar Menor.

Navarra Running from the River Ebro upto the Pyrenees.

Valencia (with provinces: Alicante, Castellon, Valencia) The mid eastern coast of Spain and including Spain's third largest city.

Galicia Asturias Castilla y Leon Cantabria Basque Navarra La Rioja Aragon Catalunya Valencia Murcia Balearic Islands Castilla La Mancha Madrid Extremadura Andalucia Canary Islands